Skip to page content Mission Information

Mission or Study ID:   Expedition 53
International Space Station (ISS)
International Space Station
Launch/Start Date:
Landing/End Date:
In progress
Expedition 53 Crew Patch


Expedition 53 began September 2, 2017 with the handover of command by Expedition 52 commander Fyodor Yurchikhin (RSA) to Expedition 53 commander, Randy Bresnik (NASA). Shortly thereafter, Expedition 52 crew members Yurchikhin, Peggy Whitson (NASA), and Jack Fischer (NASA) departed the station on a Soyuz MS-04 spacecraft and returned to Earth.

With Bresnik, flight engineers Paolo Nespoli (ESA) and Sergey Ryazanskiy (RSA) continue to operate the station. They will be joined on September 13, by Joseph Acaba (NASA), Mark Vande Hei (NASA), and Alexander Misurkin (RSA), completing the Expediton 53 crew. Acaba, Vande Hei, and Misurkin will launch September 12 on a Soyuz MS-06 spacecraft.

Expedition 53 will conclude in December, 2017.

Photo Gallery
Experiments on this Mission
Last Updated: 9/21/2017 - v11.0.0
Curators:  Abul A. Chowdhury
NASA Official:  Kenneth C. Jenks
Baselined: 7/15/2004
Skip to page content Budgets, Strategic Plans, and Accountability Reports Information-Dissemination Policies and Inventories Skip to page content Freedom of Information Act President's Management Agenda Privacy Policy & Important Notices Inspector General Hotline Skip to page content Contact LSDA / Feedback Site Map Related Links Skip to page content Johnson Space Center