Skip to page content Mission Information


Mission or Study ID:   STS-127
Shuttle Program
Launch/Start Date:
Landing/End Date:
16 days
STS-127 Crew Patch

STS-127 launched on July 15, 2009, at 6:03 p.m. EDT. Mark L. Polansky commanded the shuttle Endeavour for STS-127. Douglas G. Hurley served as the pilot. Mission specialists were Christopher J. Cassidy, Thomas H. Marshburn, David A. Wolf and Julie Payette, a Canadian Space Agency astronaut. The mission delivered Timothy L. Kopra to the International Space Station (ISS) as a flight engineer and science officer and returned Japanese astronaut Koichi Wakata to Earth. Hurley, Cassidy, Marshburn and Kopra made their first trips to space.

Endeavour set sail on its 23rd mission with the Kibo Japanese Experiment Module Exposed Facility and Experiment Logistics Module Exposed Section. The facility provides a type of "front porch" for experiments in the exposed environment, and a robotic arm that is attached to the Kibo Pressurized Module and is used to position experiments outside the station. The mission included five spacewalks.

STS-127 was the 29th shuttle mission to the ISS. Endeavour undocked and landed at Kennedy Space Center after 15 days, 16 hours and 45 minutes in space on July 31, 2009.

Photo Gallery