Skip to page content Mission Information


Mission or Study ID:   Expedition 29
International Space Station (ISS)
International Space Station
Launch/Start Date:
Landing/End Date:
40 days
Expedition 29 Crew Patch

Expedition 29 was the 29th long-duration expedition to the International Space Station (ISS). Commander Michael E. Fossum (NASA), and Flight Engineers Satoshi Furukawa (JAXA) and Sergei Volkov (Roscosmos), who were Expedition 28/29 crewmembers, officially transitioned to Expedition 29 on September 16, 2011, after the Expedition 28 crew did a handover, and returned to Earth via the Soyuz TMA-21 spacecraft. The remaining Expedition 29 crew were originally slated to arrive to ISS in September 2011, but due to the Progress M-12M resupply vehicle launch failure, was delayed to mid November 2011. Flight Engineers Anton Shkaplerov (Roscosmos), Anatoly Ivanishin (Rosocosmos), and Dan Burbank (NASA) docked their Soyuz TMA 22 to the ISS on November 16, 2011. Expedition 29 officially ended with the undocking of Soyuz TMA-02M on November 21, 2011 when Fossum, Furukawa and Volkov returned to Earth.

Photo Gallery
Experiments on this Mission