Skip to page content Mission Information


Mission or Study ID:   Expedition 38
International Space Station (ISS)
International Space Station
Launch/Start Date:
Landing/End Date:
120 days
ISS Expedition 38 Crew Patch

Expedition 38 began with the undocking of Soyuz TMA-09M on November 10, 2013.

Crewmembers cosmonauts Oleg Kotov and Sergey Ryazansky and NASA astronaut Michael Hopkins were the Expedition 37/38 crew. They arrived during Expedition 37, in late September 2013, to join the three Expedition 37 crew already on board (Fyodor Yurchikhin, RSA; Karen Nyberg, NASA; Luca Parmitano, ESA).

The Expedition 38/39 crew - Mikhail Tyurin, RSA; Richard Mastracchio, NASA; and Koichi Wakata, JAXA, arrived at the International Space Station on November 7, 2013. This marked the first time since October 2009 that nine people have resided on the space station without the presence of a space shuttle. A few days later Kotov became the Commander of the ISS for Expedition 38 on November 10, 2013, when Expedition 37 ended and Yurchikhin, Nyberg, Parmitano returned to Earth.

Expedition 38 lasted until March 2014 when Soyuz Commander Oleg Kotov and Expedition 38 Flight Engineers Mike Hopkins and Sergey Ryazanskiy landed in Kazakhstan. They landed inside the Soyuz TMA-10 spacecraft ending their mission after five-and-a-half months aboard the International Space Station.

Photo Gallery
Experiments on this Mission